Preview edition · within our documented dataset

Home · The index · Michael & Susan Dell

United States

Michael & Susan Dell

Education, Poverty & opportunity, Health

EducationPoverty & opportunityHealth

No licensed reusable portrait in this kit. Initials are used instead of an unverified photograph.

In 2025 they committed $6.25 billion to put $250 into the Trump Account of each of 25 million American children. The deposits were finished on Oct. 9, 2026. Most of their other giving goes into their own foundation and a donor-advised fund, largely as Dell Technologies stock.

Key facts

Documented record (USD)
$6.25B

Trump Accounts commitment (Dec. 2, 2025); deposits completed Oct. 9, 2026

Scope
Single commitment deposits completed
Period

Announced Dec. 2, 2025 · deposits Aug. 31 – Oct. 9, 2026

As of

2026-10-09

Attribution

Channel: the Dells' own charitable funds, per a spokesperson (not the Dell Foundation). Recipients: children's Trump Accounts.

Original currency

USD as reported

A foster-care portion is reserved for next year; its size is not published, so the exact amount deposited to date is not published either.

Net worth
$281.9B[14]

Forbes real-time net worth (Michael Dell) · as of 11 October 2026

Giving share
2.2%[14]

The $6.25B pledge as a share of $281.9B net worth · as of 11 October 2026

Annual giving
$975M[23]

2025, per the Chronicle (excludes the $6.25B) · as of 2025

Private impact
Unknown — not yet documented

Unknown is not zero.

How they give

  • Mostly into their own Michael & Susan Dell Foundation and a donor-advised fund, which then make grants over time.[15][22]
  • Much of it as Dell Technologies stock rather than cash. In October 2025 Michael Dell gave 3.5 million Class C shares: 2.3 million to the foundation and 1.2 million to their donor-advised fund.[9][19]
  • The Trump Accounts gift is different. $250 goes straight into each child's account and is invested in a U.S. stock index fund until the child turns 18. It does not pass through a charity's grants.[1][4][7]
  • Funding source for the $6.25B: not fully disclosed. A spokesperson said it comes from the Dells' own charitable funds, not the Dell Foundation.[8]

The math

Every number is footnoted. Where we did the arithmetic, the note shows it.

Pledged
$6.25B[1][2][3]$250 × 25 million children
Paid to date
≈ $6.25B (deposits complete)[7][6][1]Invest America: all deposits made as of Oct. 9, 2026. The figure is our math (25M × $250). The foster-care reserve is still pending, and the exact amount deposited is not published.
Paid at 10 million children
≥ $2.5B[1][6]Over 10 million children funded by the week of Oct. 5, 2026 (10M × $250).
Remaining
Foster-care reserve (size not published)[1]Expected next year.
Pledge in Dell shares today
≈ 10.66 million shares[13]$6.25B ÷ $586.06 (DELL close, Oct. 9, 2026).
Same pledge at Oct. 2025 price
≈ 39.1 million shares[10][13]$6.25B ÷ $159.907 (Michael Dell sale price, Oct. 9, 2025). The stock is up about 266%, so share counts swing a lot.
Pledge as % of net worth
2.2%[14]$6.25B ÷ $281.9B (Forbes real-time, Oct. 11, 2026).
Lifetime giving (Forbes)
$2.85B → $3.3B[15][16][17]Through 2024 → through Dec. 31, 2025. Forbes counts money that reaches charities. The $6.25B was not yet paid at the 2025 cut-off.
Into their own foundation and DAF
$1B (2017) · ~$976M (2023) · ~$1.5B (2024) · $975M (2025)[20][21][22][23]Chronicle Philanthropy 50 years. The Chronicle counts money moved into the Dells' own foundation and donor-advised fund in the year it's given.
Foundation pass-through vs. reaching charities
In: $1.5B + $0.5B DAF (2024) · Out: $308M grants (2024)[15][19]Forbes' lifetime total rose only $208M in 2024, even though $2B+ went into the foundation and DAF. Money sits in the foundation until it is granted out.
All-time commitments (donor-reported)
$10B[18]Not itemized by the donor. We do not add it to the figures above.

Where the money comes from

Funding source not publicly disclosed in detail

No source says whether the $6.25 billion came from cash, stock sales, or stock gifts. Below is everything the public record shows. None of these filings is tied to the Trump Accounts by any source.

  1. Michael Dell gave 1,150,000 Class C shares to the Michael & Susan Dell Foundation and 1,200,000 shares to their donor-advised fund (Form 4, gift, $0 price).[9]
  2. He gave another 1,150,000 Class C shares to the foundation (Form 4).[9]
  3. He sold 6,253,968 Class C shares at $159.907, about $1.0 billion (Form 4). This was before the Dec. 2 pledge.[10]
  4. A Dells spokesperson told Forbes the money is coming through the Dells' own charitable funds, not the Dell Foundation.[8]
  5. The foundation filed notice to sell 2,682,335 shares (market value $1,248,117,298). The shares had been gifts from Michael Dell.[11]
  6. Deposits began. CNBC cites a Dell Foundation spokesperson; the sources don't explain how that fits with the 'not through the Dell Foundation' statement.[5][8]
  7. The foundation filed notice to sell 2,459,804 shares (market value $1,248,104,549), also gifts from Michael Dell.[12]
  8. We checked EDGAR: Michael Dell has filed no Form 4 for Dell Technologies stock since Oct. 10, 2025.[25]

Gifts, one by one

Trump Accounts for 25 million children

$6.25B[1][2]
Form
Cash deposits into investment accounts (underlying funding not disclosed)
Status
Completed: deposits made as of Oct. 9, 2026 (foster-care reserve pending)[7][6]
Channel
The Dells' own charitable funds (per spokesperson), via the federal Trump Accounts system and Invest America[8][4]
Recipient
About 25 million U.S. children born 2016–2024 in ZIP codes with median family income of about $117,300 or less, plus children on military bases[1][7]
Date
Announced 2025-12-02 · deposits 2026-08-31 to 2026-10-09[2][5][7]
As of
9 October 2026

What it means: Each child gets $250, invested in a U.S. stock index fund and locked until age 18. Families can add to it. The money goes straight to children, not to a charity that grants it later.

Sources: [1][2][4][5][6][7][8]

Dell stock to their foundation and donor-advised fund (Oct. 2025)

Value not stated in filing[9]
Form
Public stock (Dell Technologies Class C)
Status
Completed (transferred)
Channel
Own foundation (2,300,000 shares) and donor-advised fund (1,200,000 shares)[9]
Recipient
Michael & Susan Dell Foundation; their donor-advised fund
Date
2025-10-01 and 2025-10-02
Shares
3,500,000 Class C shares[9]
As of
2 October 2025

What it means: Shares parked in charitable vehicles the Dells control. They reach charities later, when the foundation or fund makes grants.

Sources: [9]

Cash and stock into the Michael & Susan Dell Foundation (2023–2024)

$5.0B ($3.6B + $1.4B)[19]
Form
Cash and public stock (Dell and Broadcom)[19]
Status
Completed (into foundation)
Channel
Own foundation
Recipient
Michael & Susan Dell Foundation
Date
Dec. 2023 ($3.6B) and 2024 ($1.4B)
Shares
Not itemized ("millions of shares of Dell and Broadcom")
As of
22 January 2025

What it means: This builds the endowment (about $7.5B). Grants out were $308M in 2024. Forbes puts the 2024 inflow at $1.5B rather than $1.4B.

Sources: [19][15]

$1 billion to their foundation (2017)

$1B[20]
Form
Not stated
Status
Completed (into foundation)
Channel
Own foundation
Recipient
Michael & Susan Dell Foundation
Date
2017
As of
February 2018

What it means: Counted by the Chronicle as 2017 giving. It reaches charities over time as grants.

Sources: [20]

Dell Medical School, UT Austin

$50M[24]
Form
Commitment (form not stated)
Status
Pledged (announced commitment)
Channel
Own foundation
Recipient
The University of Texas at Austin[24]
Date
2013-01-30
As of
30 January 2013

What it means: A founding commitment for a new medical school in Austin.

Sources: [24]

Giving timeline

Dated facts present in this record, each tied to a numbered citation.

  1. Cited disclosure[24]

    Michael & Susan Dell Foundation Invests $50 million to Establish the Dell Medical School at The University of Texas at Austin

  2. Cited disclosure[20]

    America's Superrich Made Near-Record Contributions to Charity in 2017

  3. Cited disclosure[21]

    Philanthropy 50 reveals America's biggest donors of 2023

  4. Cited disclosure[22]

    Philanthropy 50 reveals America's biggest donors

  5. Cited disclosure[19]

    Sign of the Times? The Dells Grow Their Foundation by a Cool $5 Billion

  6. Cited disclosure[15]

    America's Most Generous Philanthropists 2025

  7. Cited disclosure[9]

    SEC Form 4, Michael S. Dell (filed Oct. 3, 2025)

  8. Cited disclosure[10]

    SEC Form 4, Michael S. Dell (filed Oct. 10, 2025)

  9. Cited disclosure[2]

    Michael and Susan Dell to donate $6.25 billion to fund 'Trump accounts' for 25 million U.S. kids

  10. Cited disclosure[3]

    Landmark Dell Gift Supercharges Trump Accounts for America's Kids

  11. Cited disclosure[4]

    Michael and Susan Dell donate $6.25 billion to encourage families to claim 'Trump Accounts'

  12. Cited disclosure[8]

    Is It Deductible? The Tax Rules Around The Dells' $6.25 Billion Contribution To Trump Accounts

  13. Cited disclosure[23]

    Bloomberg again named top philanthropist, despite being outspent by Dells and Scott

  14. Cited disclosure[16]

    FULL LIST: Six of 12 richest Americans make top 25 biggest givers in the US

  15. Cited disclosure[11]

    SEC Form 144, Michael & Susan Dell Foundation (June 2, 2026)

  16. Cited disclosure[5]

    Trump Account holders may receive $250 Dell grant starting Monday, Dell Foundation says

  17. Cited disclosure[12]

    SEC Form 144, Michael & Susan Dell Foundation (Sept. 3, 2026)

  18. Cited disclosure[6]

    $250 May Already Be in Your Child's Trump Account. See if Your ZIP Code Qualifies

  19. Documented giving record[1]

    Announced Dec. 2, 2025 · deposits Aug. 31 – Oct. 9, 2026

Notable gifts / records

Documented giving
$6.25B [1]

Trump Accounts commitment (Dec. 2, 2025); deposits completed Oct. 9, 2026

Scope: Single commitment deposits completed. Period: Announced Dec. 2, 2025 · deposits Aug. 31 – Oct. 9, 2026. As of: 2026-10-09.

Sources

Identity and updates

Identity-claim verification is not live. Use the intake form to add sources. Eligible recognition does not depend on a claimed profile. Public update history in this edition is the 2026-10-11 research preview.

Not a billionaire? Give what you have → iGift